My flight leaves for Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on June 28th.  This will be the first time I have been to South America!  I will be staying at a Hostel in Ipanema Beach from June 28th until July 24th and commuting through the hills on most days to the “Mangueira Escola de Samba”.  This samba school is rooted deep in the history of the Brazil´s carnival.  I am meeting up with local masters of the school to learn.  Not only will I learn more about the music but most important the experience of the culture! After these 26 nights in Rio I will be heading on a plane to Northeast Brazil to Recife.  This region is rooted in the folkloric styles know as Forro “for all” and “Maracatu”.  After 23 nights in Recife I head to Port of Spain, Trinidad.  This is the home to the birth of the steel drum/pan. I will be here for 16 days and return to the USA on September 1st 2007.  Pictures are coming soon on the gallery page.  Stay tuned for more…

